my favorite Easter so far

Standard

As you may or may not know, I get to be part of Movement Church, a church plant in Hilliard, Ohio (the west side of Columbus). We have been meetings as a launch team since the fall, but Easter was our official launch service (in other words, the grand opening).

Mark, our lead pastor, gives an awesome run through of the weekend. Without rehashing everything he shared, I will just say a couple of things:

  1. We were praying for 1000+ people to come to the egg drop (the community egg hunt we did on Saturday). 2000-2500 people were there.
  2. We were praying for 200 people to come to the service on Sunday morning. 199 people were there.
  3. I know numbers aren’t everything, but each number does represent a person who needs to know Jesus … so, yeah, I am celebrating those big numbers.
  4. Throughout the weekend I watched our people serve with such a good attitude and with so much energy, and I watched them love on visitors so well. I was so proud of our team, and of the way they reflected Jesus’ love and grace and selflessness.
  5. 4 people were baptized. I don’t know about you, but baptisms always get me. I found myself tearing up as I watched people publicly declare that their lives are different because of Jesus.
  6. At least one person gave his life to Jesus for the very first time. That means that he showed up Sunday morning dead and is now alive (Ephesians 2.4-5). I can’t get over this. Wow wow wow.

In all of these things, I am celebrating that Jesus is doing literally more than I could have asked or imagined. He is blowing my expectations out of the water. I can’t thank him enough.

Saturday I read these verses, and I think they summarize my feelings pretty well:

Who am I, O Sovereign LORD, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?

What more can I say to you? You know what your servant is really like, Sovereign LORD. Because of your promise and according to your will, you have done all these great things and have made them known to your servant.

How great you are, O Sovereign LORD! There is no one like you.

2 Samuel 7.18, 20-22

God knows what I’m really like … he knows that I am sinful and broken apart from him. But he chooses to do great things in and through us, because he is so gracious and so loving and way too good to us. He is great. And I’m expecting even greater things to come.

Stay tuned.

One response »

Leave a Reply

